It’s a Bird Party in Our Yard!

IMG_1240_edited-1I’ve never really given a thought to birds.  Sure, some are pretty but I thought they were, well, boring.  I assumed that folks that were bird watchers were an odd lot.  Have you seen The Big Year?IMG_1246_edited-1

Then my step-mother asked for a bird feeder for Christmas.  I decided to stop in a store called Wild Birds Unlimited.  I was amazed that a store that dealt with nothing but birds could even stay in business.  How wrong I was!  It was busy the whole time I was there.  I walked out of there not only with a bird feeder gift, I had a feeder, bird book and bag of food for myself! I’ve since gone back to buy a bigger feeder and suet cakes to bring the woodpeckers.IMG_1229_edited-1

IMG_1167_edited-1

IMG_1188_edited-1

Within a couple hours of hanging the feeder, we had birds.  We’ve seen Junkos, Chickadees, Cardinals (lots of those), House Finches, Blue Jays, and more.

IMG_1118_edited-1

What amazes me is just how many birds gather.  There have been times I look out and see at least ten on the trees next to the feeders.IMG_1130_edited-1IMG_1247_edited-1

I’m sure part of the reason the feeders have been so busy is the snow covering.  That snow is what makes it so pretty to look out and see little pops of red where the cardinals are staying close by.IMG_1260_edited-1

IMG_1259_edited-1

I love looking out the back window to see which birds are stopping by each day.

IMG_1149_edited-1

I look forward to seeing what birds we get this spring.IMG_1237_edited-1

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

5 responses »

  1. These are wonderful pictures, Janette! We have some here at home, too and I’m so glad to get to see them. Need a bird book, tho.

    Reply
    • The one I got was small and easy to use – it’s arranged by the bird’s color so it makes them easy to identify. And it’s only birds of Ohio so it narrows it down quite a bit.

      Reply
  2. i’m a total bird nerd! welcome to the club ;)
    isn’t it great having all that bird activity in your backyard? you’re lucky that you don’t have squirrels or racoons chewing your feeder apart yet :)

    Reply
  3. Your pictures are just breath taking. I hope you don’t mind that I have nominated you for the Liebster Awards.

    http://gigglesinthesun.blogspot.com.au/2013/01/an-award-how-cool-is-that.html

    Reply
  4. great photos! i love how the red cardinals stand out against the snow! (and we rarely ever get snow, maybe once every 5 years or so) i’ve always thought chickadees are adorable. we have a family of doves that nests on our porch light, but the most amazing bird i’ve seen in the wild is a painted bunting – so cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

