Infinity Scarf

IMG_3200_edited-1webThere are approximately 10,000 infinity scarf tutorials in the internet.  Now there’s 10,001!  There’s a good reason.  It’s the easiest project ever.  If you have a sewing machine, you can make one.  Two yards of fabric makes two scarves which can be worn doubled or tripled. It could make three scarves if you like them more narrow.  I may try that next.

I was procrastinating starting a knit dress and wanted to make something quick and easy.  When I realized a girlfriend’s birthday party was Saturday, I figured it would be a cute handmade addition to her gift.

Fabric choice is important.  I used cotton voile for all the examples below and it works well.  A gauze would be pretty.  A printed or striped knit would be great too.  I just didn’t have either of those in my stash and once I got the idea in my head I wanted to try it right then.  The curse of the impatient, I guess.  Any woven thicker than a voile would look a little too chunky.  It’s a great way to use fabrics you love but wouldn’t wear as a garment.  The scarves look more bulky here than when they’re actually worn.

IMG_3198_edited-1web

A cool alternative would be to make it out of two coordinating fabrics – it would look very cool once twisted around your neck.  I didn’t have that so below is a simple version.

Wanna learn how?  Here goes:

IMG_3203_edited-1webCut the fabric width in half (cut parallel to the selvage).  You could even cut it in thirds.  Your scarf will be half the width of each cut piece.  In my example, my fabric is 54” wide.  I cut one piece 23” x wide since that was the easiest way to mark the fabric with my ruler.  The remainder was 31”.  Whatever the width you choose, make sure that measurement is uniform the entire length.  That will be important later.  Just trim it up if not.  Square off the ends.

 

IMG_3205_edited-1webTake one of your strips and fold it in half right sides together.  Pin along the edge.  If you have a visible selvage, pin so that side is on top.

 

IMG_3210_edited-1webStitch the entire length of the piece.  I use the selvage as a guide to ensure it doesn’t show through.  Otherwise, I would use about 1/2” or 3/8” seam. (Can you tell this doesn’t have to be exact?)

 

IMG_3215_edited-1webPress the seam flat and then press the seam allowance open.

Turn the “tube” you just created right side out.

Fold that tube in half with the seam lines together.

 

IMG_3217_edited-1webPin the sides with the seam right sides together.  Only pin the inner layers.  Leave the other sides free. 

 

 

IMG_3221_edited-1webKeep pinning with the raw edges lined up as far as you can.  You won’t be able to pin the whole way around.

 

 

IMG_3225_edited-1webStitch along the edge as far as you can.  You’re sewing the loop closed so you won’t be able to stitch this all the way around. 

 

IMG_3229_edited-1webTurn the loop right side out.

 

 

IMG_3230_edited-1webLine up the remaining opening. Press a fold along the seam line to guide your hand stitches (I just finger press. Lazy.)

Stitch closed. I’m not showing that – my hand stitching is atrocious!

Press along the hand stitching.

Admire your new scarf! 

IMG_3235_edited-1web

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

3 responses »

  1. oh, this looks great – and I have the perfect piece in mind, as soon as I can get to my sewing room and unpack all the fabric!!

    Reply
  2. How long is your piece of fabric? I’ve seen tutorials with 2 yards. What about you?

    Reply
    • Hi- yes, mine is two yards. I will tell you though that I’ve since made another and I think they look better if thinner (if using a voile). I cut the width in thirds with my most recent fabric and it lays better when worn.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

