Cuckoo for Coco

IMG_4562_edited-1web

The new Coco pattern from Tilly Walnes of Tilly and the Buttons has been popping up all over the internet.  I immediately thought it was adorable.  It was so basic, though,  I questioned whether it was worth purchasing.  As I saw more examples I realized it’s actually a perfect transitional piece and one that’s extremely wearable.  It’s longer and more polished than a t-shirt and can be worn year round.

I bought the pattern for the funnel neck which I think is a super cute retro look without being costumey.  When I went to make my versions, though, I was hesitant.  I was worried my fabric wasn’t quite right – too thick and wouldn’t hold a press.  It would look like I had a short, misshapen turtleneck.  Now that I’ve seen more versions online, I think I’ll try one with some navy ponte I have.

IMG_4574_edited-1web

My first version was made from a gray ponte from Joann.  This fabric is a poly/rayon blend.  It’s soft and comfortable with just a teeny bit of stretch.  It barely wrinkles and is extremely easy to sew, though I fear it will pill in an instant.  I used a triple straight stitch for the neckline and finishing the sleeves and hem. I sewed the sleeve and side seams on the serger. I made a size 4 throughout.

IMG_4579_edited-1web You can see it was a little too small through the high hip and rides up.  Or maybe I need a swayback adjustment?

IMG_4590_edited-1web Me in the middle of a turn and Ollie in the middle of squawking at me. We’re having all kinds of fun over here.

IMG_4557_edited-1web

My second version was made of a striped ponte from Fabricmart.  It has a slightly different texture and is thinner.   I sewed a size 4 through the bust, sleeves and waist then graded out to a size 5 to the hip.  This fabric has a bit more stretch so it turned out a bit too big.  It’s mostly fine from the front but looks a little like a tent from the side. With this fabric I should have stayed with the size 4.  I still have the pooling at the lower back so that area must need some sort of swayback adjustment. I used the triple straight stitch for the side split but used a double needle for the neckline, hem and sleeves.

IMG_4444_edited-1web IMG_4443_edited-1web Triple straight stitch on gray, double needle on striped.

Sewing the top is a snap.  If you’re creative with folding you could probably squeeze it out of less than 2 yards, depending on your size.  In fact, I messed up the stripe matching and neckline (the triple straight stitch looked like crap on the striped fabric) so I scrapped my first try and cut new front and back pieces and still had fabric left over.

I definitely recommend the pattern, especially for beginners.  I’m sure for more experienced sewers there are less expensive options but since I’ll have used it at least 3 times, I’ve gotten good use out of it.

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

2 responses »

  1. Janette, I saw your comment on my Archer top and replied but wanted to make sure you knew what size I used and why…that is if you’re working on yours and need to know. I measure a 34 in the bust and 29 in the waist but used the straight up size 4 in the archer. The only change i might make is to add a smidge (about 1/2 inch) at the bustline since there is a tiny bit of pulling there. Otherwise the fit is great. I had also read that the fit is roomy so thats why I made the size 4 straight up instead of grading it out. Hope this helps you figure out your fit and the fabric from joanns makes a wonderful archer that is cool enough to wear in the summer!

    Reply
    • Thank you! That is so helpful – I measure a bit larger than you so that definitely helps me with a reference point! For me, the most frustrating part of sewing is making something only to find it’s too large or small. I’m still learning how much ease is appropriate for different garments. I guess that comes with experience. Unfortunately, I don’t have any similar button downs in my closet to measure (why I need to make one!). Thanks again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

