Where Have You Been All My Life, Peanut Butter Sheet Cake?

I’m slightly (completely) obsessed with Pinterest.  I see so many dishes and desserts I want to make that I’m constantly pinning and repinning.  But, when it comes to actually making something new, so far I have stuck with my old standbys – one of the amazing America’s Test Kitchen cookbooks.  They are basically foolproof and almost always delicious.  Plus, I could read them as if they are novels.  Weird, huh?

Anyway, I pinned a Peanut Butter Sheet Cake awhile back and couldn’t get it out of my head.  I am a HUGE fan of Texas Sheet Cake which I’ll share some other time.  The recipe I grew up with is still one of my all-time favorites and a great go-to cake when feeding a crowd.  There was a little voice in my head that said the Peanut Butter Sheet Cake would probably be good but how could it ever match up?

Making it was super easy.  Basically the same process as the Texas Sheet Cake, just peanut butter instead of cocoa.  I’ll let you go to the link above if you’re interested in the directions.  The only things I would add that aren’t spelled out would be to make sure to mix the batter for a couple minutes before pouring in pan and to wait a few minutes for the cake to slightly cool before icing so it doesn’t completely melt and run off the pan.  The latter I learned the hard way the first time I made TX Sheet Cake. Oops.

Tasting the batter and the icing put my mind at ease.  The icing is amazing.  But I had to wait another hour or so ‘till my husband got home and we had dinner (slow cooker sloppy joes – another recipe I should share sometime).

IMG_6245_edited-1

The verdict?  Well, I didn’t wait ‘till after dinner.  And don’t worry I had plenty of room for sloppy joes and chips.  The cake is great – especially slightly warm.  The cake itself is light and moist with a slight peanut butter taste.  The icing almost overpowers it, in my opinion, because it is so peanuty and sweet but it’s so good you won’t care. It won’t replace Texas Sheet Cake in my heart but has definitely earned a spot in the dessert rotation at our house.

Try it soon!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

