Foggy and Spooky

A couple years ago I decided to learn more about photography.  I wasn’t happy with a handful of so-so pictures from holidays or vacations every year.  That didn’t represent my life.  I also wanted to take the time to look at what is beautiful and good in my life.  I’m really fortunate to have a great life surrounded by special people.  I wanted to have a conscious way to pay attention and appreciate that. Photography could be a way to do that.

So, I learned all about the settings on the camera, lenses, etc…  I took an online class which was incredibly helpful.  While technically I could have learned all the information through books or online, the class forced me to do the weekly ‘homework’. The assignments (aperture, shutter speed, etc..) directed how I looked at the world around me so I could find the right things to photograph.  I loved it.  I did a photo of the week project and I found I would look for things to shoot, which was the whole point.

Last year, with a new job and a new house, I got away from taking pictures.  I struggled with balancing being the annoying person with a lens in front of peoples faces and doing something I enjoyed (and was glad I did after the fact).  I hardly took any photos and realized I missed it. 

One of my goals with this blog is to get back into taking pictures regularly.  I’m definitely a little rusty.  I would love to do a Project 365 but with my work and travel schedule, it would feel like a burden.  And, frankly, without kids, what would I take pictures of?  You can only have so many cat or dog pictures (and my husband is not a willing participant in such things). 

Are you still reading? All that long-windedness (is that a word?) as an introduction to some photos today and to explain why there will be random photos pop up from time to time.  It was super spooky but kinda pretty out this evening.  Behind our house are trees and a large field.  You could barely see the field except bits and pieces through the mist.  I went out on the back patio and got a couple shots before I saw a blur of white run by me. Somehow Ollie escaped and ran under the porch.  I chased after him in the rain, grabbed him, tried (unsuccessfully) to avoid his claws and brought him back inside.  By then, the light was gone. Oh well.  I’ll keep at it.

IMG_6336_edited-2

IMG_6327_edited-1

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

One response »

  1. Nice pics. Wish you could have gotten the ‘white streak’, too.
    Love ya.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

