Bootylicious Buffalo Chicken Dip

It’s Super Bowl Sunday!  In truth, I don’t care at all about professional football.  I’ll probably root for the team that has the most former Buckeyes (the Giants?).  But, the Super Bowl is a great excuse to get together with friends and eat delicious food.

I found this recipe a couple years ago on Tasty Kitchen and it was a big hit.  I’ve made it several times over the past few years and I love it even more.  I’d go out on a limb and say it’s my favorite dip I make.  This recipe couldn’t be easier to make – one pot and a handful of ingredients: big chunks of chicken, hot sauce, blue cheese dressing (or ranch if you prefer), cheddar cheese, and cream cheese.  Mmmmm….

Excuse the photos – I made it last night and the light is horrible in my kitchen.

Start with 1 1/2 lbs shredded chicken breast.  I used 2 lbs. and boiled it with the seasoning salt and garlic powder.  No picture of that because boiling chicken is gross.  Add the Frank’s Hot Sauce.  I added about a quarter cup more sauce to match the extra chicken and since the crowd we’ll see tonight isn’t afraid of a little heat.

IMG_6604_edited-1

Add the cream cheese and blue cheese dressing. 

IMG_6606_edited-1

Yes, you see two blocks of cream cheese.  This is not health food.

Stir in half the sharp cheddar cheese.  Oh my.

(this may be more than half – but we have extra chicken, right?)

IMG_6607_edited-1

Stir it all up, top with remaining cheddar and put in a crock pot.  I made mine last night so I’ll be doing that step later.  Of course I had to taste it to make sure it was all right.  The thought did cross my mind that Matt and I could eat this batch and I could whip up another batch today.  We practiced some restraint.  Boo.  Serve with celery sticks (no one will eat) and tortilla chips.

Make this today.  Trust me.

IMG_6612_edited-2

Bootylicious Buffalo Chicken Dip

source: prairieprincess

Ingredients

  • 20 ounces, weight Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • 1 pinch Seasoned Salt
  • 1 pinch Garlic Powder
  • 1 cup Frank’s Hot Sauce, More Or Less To Taste
  • 16 ounces, weight Cream Cheese
  • 1 cup Ranch Or Blue Cheese Dressing (pick Your Passion)
  • 1-½ cup Sharp Cheddar Cheese, Grated
  • Celery And Crackers For Serving

Preparation Instructions

Fill saucepan with water, add a pinch of seasoned salt, a pinch of garlic powder, and chicken breasts. Boil until chicken is done. Drain, allow to cool, and shred with forks. (You can skip this step and use 2 10 ounce cans of chicken instead if you prefer.)

Return shredded chicken to pan, add in hot sauce. Heat over medium heat until heated through. Stir in cream cheese and ranch/blue cheese dressing. Cook, stirring until well blended and warm. Mix in half of the cheddar cheese. *Very important step: You must now sample it to make sure it’s got enough buffalo kick; add more hot sauce as needed. You want it to taste more buffalo than chicken.)

Transfer to a crock pot. Sprinkle remaining cheese on top, cover and cook on low until hot and bubbly. Serve with celery sticks and crackers

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

