Banana Bread

Tonight I made my first ever quick bread.  I don’t know why I’ve waited so long.  The recipe was incredibly easy and turned out wonderfully.  I used the recipe in my go-to cookbook, America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook.  Great basic recipes and easy to follow instructions.

IMG_6734_edited-1

I wanted to try banana bread not only because I love it, but also because I had some overripe bananas after traveling most of the week.  The ingredients are probably already in your kitchen.  I just had to pick up some yogurt (I used non-fat and didn’t notice any difference) and walnuts.

IMG_6702_edited-1

No mixer needed.  Just whisk the dry ingredients, whisk the mashed bananas and rest of wet ingredients and fold the two together.  Then, fold in the walnuts.  Pour in a loaf pan and bake for 55 minutes.

IMG_6708_edited-1

When baking, I put it in the middle of the oven even though the recipe said lower middle.  I don’t know if that is the reason but my edges were overcooked as I had to keep the bread in longer to make sure the center was done.  Next time I may put foil around the edges toward the end like you do with pie crust to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Just cool in the pan for 10 minutes and then on a wire rack for an hour.

IMG_6714_edited-1

IMG_6716_edited-1

The edges are definitely a little crispier than normal.  But the inside?  Moist and delicious.

IMG_6730_edited-1

I will definitely try more quick breads.  What a great treat!

IMG_6732_edited-2

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Texas Sheet Cake with a Couple Happy Accidents « Girl, Guy, Dog, Cat

Leave a Reply

