73 Reasons to Celebrate (and Cheesy Bread)

IMG_7068_edited-1

We had the family over to celebrate my father-in-law’s birthday on Sunday.  Although we don’t get to see either side of our family as often as we’d like, it is occasions like this that make me so thankful both our immediate families are nearby.  Every birthday is a blessing no matter your age and we are so grateful for the time we have with our loved ones.

IMG_7066_edited-1

One of my goals is to take lots of pictures at family events.  I failed miserably here.  I didn’t even get a good shot of the birthday boy!  Every time we have people over, whether it’s our annual Christmas party or just a casual birthday get together, I get the camera out, ready to go.  Then I get too caught up in chatting or preparing the food and end up with a handful of random, bad shots.  I didn’t remember to take any pictures until after dinner.  Oh well.  The point is to enjoy yourself, right?  IMG_7056_edited-1

IMG_7058_edited-1

I made a couple lasagnas which were good but not worth taking pictures (plus the thought didn’t occur to me).  I used the recipe on the back of the Barilla box and made one with sausage and one with beef and spicy sauce.  I’m so gourmet and fancy.  Though they weren’t anything out of the ordinary, they were homemade and homemade lasagna is always delicious (provided you add extra cheese).

IMG_7061_edited-1

I always try at least one new recipe when I get the chance to cook for a crowd.  This one was super simple and so good: Cheesy Garlic Bread.  I found the recipe on Tasty Kitchen.  It tasted so much better than the kind you buy at the store pre-buttered.

I completely forgot to take pictures of the process but you can probably picture softened butter mixed with minced garlic and parsley in a bowl.  You can?  Good.  Now here it is spread on the bread (double recipe):

IMG_7054_edited-1

Ok, I forgot to take a picture after it was out of the oven too.  I told you I get distracted!  I’m not used to taking pictures with every cooking step!

The only change I made to the recipe was with the cheese.  When at the store, I found this mix of shredded cheeses and used it instead of the mozzarella and parmesan.  Basically the same thing but easier.  I made two critical mistakes: 1. I skimped on the cheese.  Load it on! and 2. I made one loaf with just garlic butter.  It was delicious but everything is better with cheese!

Until next time…

IMG_7062

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

2 responses »

  1. I guess I am lost when it comes to ’73’ reasons. Must have missed the other 72 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

