A New Top and a New Toy

IMG_7099_edited-1

I finished a top this week – a knit which is a first for me.  Everything I read said how it was difficult sewing with knits so I was nervous this would be a total disaster.  Plus I don’t have a serger which I thought would be necessary to get a good (not homemade looking) finish.  It’s true that if you look on the inside the shirt it isn’t as clean as professionally made. But from the outside, it looks completely normal.  It is super comfortable and I like the color.

I originally wanted to make this shirt in a nice stretchy black fabric that has a pretty drape.  Unfortunately I don’t think my skills are yet up to the challenge for that fabric.  It was slipping and sliding and stretching so much, I got frustrated just laying out the pattern.  It was a 4-way stretch and the pattern calls for a 2-way stretch.  Maybe that was part of the problem.

The pattern was Vogue #8634.  I think it looks pretty much as it should.

V8634

Once I started with the new fabric, it went pretty quickly.  It was easier than I thought it would be.  I sewed the whole shirt with a zig zag stitch and only used a straight stich for the topstitching.

IMG_7098_edited-1

IMG_7102_edited-1

The cowl part of is a little wonky.  The neckline is really low and wide. If I make it again, I’ll make an adjustment there.  I might make the cowl taller too.

The new toy?  A remote control to use with my camera.  It’s so much more convenient.  But, as these pictures show, I still need to work on the focus.  They’re all a little soft.  And, don’t you love the backdrop of a rainy, dirty deck?  It was the only place in my house that still had enough light.

Fun with the remote – even Sadie and Ollie got in the act.

IMG_7089_edited-1

IMG_7093_edited-1

IMG_7090_edited-1

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

7 responses »

  1. This is awesome!! Next stop, project runway!!

    Reply
  2. Becky Kitchen

    My daughter(s) the models!

    Reply
  3. kristen kenney

    this looks great!!! you are so talented!

    Reply
  4. Impressive!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Sewaholic Renfrew « Girl, Guy, Dog, Cat

  6. Pingback: 2012–My First Year of Sewing « Girl, Guy, Dog, Cat

Leave a Reply

