Easy Thin Mint Pie

IMG_7273_edited-1

It’s Girl Scout cookie time!  I was a Girl Scout and have such fond memories of the meetings, campouts, and activities.   I remember my Dad taking my cookie order form to work and selling tons of boxes.  Those poor co-workers.  Knowing him, he wouldn’t leave them alone until they signed up for something! 

I was a Brownie then Girl Scout and continued through 6th grade (troop 1075!).   I know recently the Girl Scouts have caught flack from some groups at a national level.  I don’t know much about that but I do know my experience in the 70’s was great and if I had a daughter, I would encourage her to be a scout too.  We learned all kinds of useful skills (too bad I don’t remember them), did lots of crafts and spent time with our friends in a group that taught values like service, kindness and friendship.  Plus, as a girl growing up in the suburbs, I got to go camping.  And, I think that was the last time I did go camping!

I tried to find a picture of me in my girl scout uniform – I can picture it like it was yesterday – but all I could find was me in a Brownie sweatshirt.  Hello, Dorothy Hamill haircut!

me brownie sweatshirt edited-1

me brownie sweatshirt (1)_edited-1

Remember these uniforms?  I remember this catalog and always thought the turtleneck was soo cool but I always had the little white shirt.  The things you remember…73junior

73brownie

Source for the above images

My sweet little next door neighbor was selling cookies and, as always, I bought too many.  For someone that works at home, that can be very dangerous.  A sleeve of cookies will be gone in a matter of minutes!

Anyway, on to the pie. This year I decided to try something new.  I Googled ‘Thin Mint Recipes’ and found many that looked delicious but the below was so easy I had to give it a shot. 

I have a problem with instant gratification and I figured I could buy cream cheese and cool whip and make it that day. No one will mistake me for a gourmet with this easy recipe but I sure would have loved it as a Girl Scout!

Click here for the recipe I used.

It required a handful of ingredients and only took about 10 minutes total to make.

IMG_7184_edited-1

One thing to note –

  • This recipe used almost 2 boxes of cookies.  If I make it again, I would increase the cookies and butter to make a larger crust.  As written, it barely covered my pie plate.

Excuse the messy pictures.  I made this over my lunch break and I’m no food stylist.

Easy steps:

Pulse the cookies until you get a fine crumb.

IMG_7209_edited-1

In bowl, add melted butter.  Mix well.  Press into pie plate (as mentioned above, next time I’ll use more cookies). Refrigerate while you make the filling.

IMG_7212_edited-1

Mix softened cream cheese and sugar in a bowl until fluffy (mine never got fluffy…).  Add cookies and fold in Cool Whip.

IMG_7217_edited-1

Spoon over crust and refrigerate for 2 hours.  YUM!

IMG_7270_edited-1

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

One response »

  1. Loved your pictures, I remember that top well! And your haircut was in style, …then!
    Thanks for the memories, love ya, Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

