Crab Cakes

We decided to stay in and cook on Saturday night. For most people that’s normal but we eat out A LOT.  And not because we are livin’ it up out on the town – just different work schedules and travel. I was itching to cook since I rarely do during the week. I really enjoy cooking but never plan ahead to have the right ingredients at home during the week, especially if I’m out of town a couple days.  I am in awe of families that put dinner on the table every night with entrees and healthy sides.

I ended up making crab cakes, tartar sauce, a homemade salad dressing (that had to sit for 24 hours – whoops – no salad that night), and a jello pudding salad that I grew up eating.  The crab cakes were fantastic.  I don’t say that to brag – I didn’t develop the recipes!  I combined two very similar recipes from trusted cookbooks.  I added/subtracted from both.

I know some may think it is sacrilege but I used the pasteurized lump crab meat you buy at the refrigerated seafood counter.  They come in 1lb cans. ; Not cheap but a good compromise between fresh and the canned stuff in the tuna section.

Next time I make these, I’ll make 6 crab cakes.  These were too thick and had to stay in the skillet too long.  They tasted great but were a little more brown than I would have liked (just visually).  I will absolutely make again!

Recipe adapted from America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook and How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman

Serves 4

1 pound fresh or pasteurized lump crab meat

1/2 cup scallions

2 teaspoons Old Bay seasoning

1/4 cup mayonnaise

1 large egg (I beat mine first)

1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

Salt and pepper

4-6 tablespoons breadcrumbs

1/2 cup flour (for dredging)

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons vegetable oil


Mix the crab, mustard, scallions, Old Bay, egg and mayo.  Add some salt and pepper.

IMG_7673_edited-1

Add breadcrumbs gradually – just enough to bind the mixture.  I used 5 tablespoons.  (one recipe called for 6T; one called for 2T). Combine.

IMG_7683_edited-1

Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Form into 4-6 cakes.

IMG_7694_edited-1

Heat the pan for a couple minutes, add butter and oil and heat.

Place flour in shallow dish. Add salt and pepper. Dredge cakes in flour.

Carefully add crab cakes to skillet and cook approximately 5 minutes per side.

IMG_7696_edited-1

(and the money shot didn’t turn out – ugh!  My kitchen is just too dark)

IMG_7699_edited-1

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

