Key Lime Pie

IMG_8144_edited-1

Happy Mother’s Day!

Key Lime Pie is one of my top five desserts but I had never made it myself.  I made two this weekend and I know there will be many more in my future.

I found this recipe at tastykitchen.com which is always my first stop if I’m looking for a recipe online.  I love the comments and reviews – they are very helpful and positive – not like some other websites that can get pretty snarky.  Here’s the recipe: Key Lime Pie

This recipe has a few things that I really like.  First, it’s tart.  I don’t like overly sweet Key Lime pie.  Second, it has coconut in the graham cracker crust.  I thought it was a little odd and I almost left it out because I’m not a coconut fan.  I’m glad I didn’t.  It added some sweetness and you never really actually “taste” the coconut.  And finally, the whipped cream recipe was great!

IMG_8155_edited-1

The whipped cream recipe calls for adding plain gelatin.  I thought that was really weird.  Well, I found out it is used to stabilize the whipped cream so it doesn’t break down into a watery mess.  And it works!  The first pie was made Friday and as of Sunday afternoon, the whipped cream is holding up fairly well (it looked great for two days).  I also read about a product called Whipit that does the same thing.  I think I’ll try that next time.  The gelatin is a little touchy.  I had to trash my first bowl of cream because the gelatin hit the cold cream and must have set too fast because it was stringy.  I’m pretty sure I heated the gelatin too long.  The next two batches were just fine (because I actually followed the directions).  I’m so excited to have learned this trick!  This must be how pastry shops keep their whipped cream looking so nice.  The second time I made the whipped cream I added an additional tablespoon of sugar – the pie is so tart I wanted the whipped cream to be sweeter.

IMG_8158_edited-1

I decided the pie looked a little sad and plain in the first picture so I added some more whipped cream! A little extra whipped cream never hurt anyone.

Give it a try!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

3 responses »

  1. Linda Cooper

    I love this blog. Keep it coming.

    Reply
  2. As the honored recipient of this pie, I have to say, “It’s Great!” So proud of my daughter’s newly found interest in baking. I will be glad to be the ‘sampler’ anytime!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Summer Berry Pie | Girl, Guy, Dog, Cat

Leave a Reply

