Strawberry Cheesecake Trifle

IMG_8271_edited-1

Last weekend, when we had friends over I, once again, made two desserts.  This isn’t me being ambitious.  It’s me being nervous and indecisive.  I couldn’t decide which to make and since I had never made either, I figured one would work out.  I’ve had a few kitchen disasters with guests so now I probably overdo it just in case. But better to have too much food than not enough, right?

The other dessert that night was the Slutty Brownies.  Of course with the attention-grabbing name, that had to be written up first.  But, in truth, I am less of a chocolate dessert fan than most people.  I will pick the cheesecake or fruit dessert over chocolate every time.  And when I say fruit dessert, I don’t mean a bowl of berries.  That has its place, I guess,  but it’s boring.  I mean fruit with lots of sugar, butter or cream mixed in somehow. Between the two desserts, I actually preferred this one.  Too bad it doesn’t have a sassy name too.

The recipe as written was designed to go in cute little parfait cups.  I don’t own those so it went in my trifle dish (trifle glass?).  Calling it cheesecake is a bit of a misnomer. I was expecting something with a denser layer.  It’s very light (in texture, not in calories). Smile  But, because of the ingredients, it definitely does have a chessecakey (technical term) flavor.  Regardless of the name, it’s delicious.

Here’s the recipe:  Strawberry Cheesecake Parfaits  update: I forgot to mention – I doubled the recipe.  Tastykitchen.com has a nifty tool where you can change the number of servings and it will adjust the recipe.  cool!

Aside from learning how to layer things in a trifle without it being a complete mess, next time I will probably make more of the graham cracker butter mixture.  I know it’s supposed to be the “crust” on the bottom but I think it would be good layered throughout and I didn’t have enough.  Maybe in parfait glasses it would work better?

IMG_8269_edited-1I know, my food styling is impressive.  Dirty knives and a roll of paper towels in the background  add to the photo, don’t you think?  I really need to think about my photos more if I’m going to blog!

Have a great Memorial Day Weekend!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

