Tequila Lime Chicken and Black Beans

IMG_8476_edited-1

After looking through my new Pioneer Woman cookbook, I had to have a little summery Mexican theme tonight.  I saw the recipe for Tequila Lime Chicken and had to make it.  I’m always looking for ways to make chicken on the grill with actual flavor.  I get so bored with chicken! 

Tonight was a lot of good and a little bad.  The chicken and the black beans were delicious.  I also tried the Mexican Rice recipe from the book and it was kind of a mess.  Not a complete failure – it didn’t burn or set my kitchen on fire or anything.  But, while the flavor was really good, I just couldn’t get the texture right.  I have some sort of problem with rice.  Unless it comes from a box, I will screw it up.  I realize this is like saying I have trouble boiling water.  I’ll try it again because the recipe was easy. The trouble surely came from user error.

Now for the good – I made the marinade in the morning before work so it had all day to work its magic.  It couldn’t be easier to make – just a handful of ingredients – but the end result has a really fresh and bright flavor. And surprisingly, the chicken wasn’t raw or totally charred!  I do all the cooking and baking in the house.  But grilling?  That’s Matt’s area and I gladly avoid the grill.  But he had a late meeting and I didn’t want to wait until 8:30 to eat.  After tonight he better watch out – I might just take over the grilling too!

IMG_8453_edited-1IMG_8464_edited-2

IMG_8466_edited-2

I topped it with a little monterey jack cheese.  It would have been great with some pico de gallo too.

Even though the recipe was in the cookbook, it was also on tastykitchen.com.  Here it is:  Tequila Lime Chicken.

The black beans were so simple and great too.  I found the recipe on allrecipes.com but changed it based on the comments. I sauteed the onions and garlic before adding the beans.  I also drained and rinsed the beans and replaced that liquid with chicken broth.  I’ve never made the recipe as written but I loved this version and will definitely make it often.

IMG_8479_edited-1

Have a great weekend, everyone!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

