Lemon Pie Bars

IMG_8537_edited-1

My mom made these Lemon Pie Bars regularly throughout my childhood and I absolutely crave them from time to time.  Other than boxed brownies, this was one of the first things I learned how to bake. The recipe in my binder is written in my mom’s hand giving credit to an old friend (who I don’t know).  I love old recipes – I have no idea how old it is. 

Ingredients:

3/4 Cup butter (or Oleo, as the ancient recipe saysSmile)

1/2 Cup powdered sugar

1 1/2 Cup flour

__________________

3 eggs slightly beaten

1 1/2 Cup sugar

3 Tablespoons flour

Juice of 2 Lemons (mine were pretty large.  Use 3 if small)

Additional powdered sugar to sprinkle on top

Mix butter, powdered sugar, and flour (first measurement).  Pat into 13×9 pan.IMG_8504_edited-1

IMG_8506_edited-1

Bake at 350 for 15-20 mins. 

While baking, mix eggs, sugar, and 3T flour.IMG_8512_edited-1IMG_8518_edited-2

 

I usually take the crust out just as it starts to brown. It will be baked again and you don’t want it to get too dry.IMG_8521_edited-1

Pour lemon mixture over hot crust and bake for 20mins.IMG_8524_edited-1

Sprinkle with powdered sugar.IMG_8565_edited-1IMG_8558_edited-1

Sadie is sad she can’t try a delicious lemon bar.

 

IMG_8538_edited-1

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

