Sadie Saturday–I’m a Front Seat Dog

My parents just don’t know it yet. 

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE car rides.  Sometimes when Mom is too slow opening the back door, I take my proper place in the front seat.sadie front seat_edited-1

She always makes me get out and go in the back seat.  Something about it not being safe.  I don’t know that I buy that.  Doesn’t she understand being a “front-seat dog”?  Have you ever read the book,  A Dog’s Purpose?  It was great.  In it, the dog narrator always appreciates when the people he meets understand he should sit up front instead of banished to the back.  That’s how I feel!

Anyway, this was on Monday when I went to MedVet – twice!  I couldn’t get out of there fast enough.  They’re all very sweet there but enough vets!  I was limping because my back hurt and I had an allergy follow-up.  The back doctor told me I might have something called Wobblers but we will have to wait and see.  I hope I don’t have that! That’s weird because Wobblers are my toys that spit out food!

Little did I know that I would be going back there for a THIRD time on Friday.  I go to the vet a lot but this is a record for me.  I ate a pack of Orbit sugarfree gum while Mom went shopping.  I guess that is really bad for me.  Oops.  It tasted delicious and I had minty fresh breath! So Mom called the vet and they said to make me vomit (gross!) and get to MedVet right away.  Luckily, we didn’t have the stuff to make me throw up here so we went straight to the vet.

It turned out OK since the candy company had changed the formulation of this gum since so many pets got sick.  And since I am so big, it didn’t affect me.  So I got an extra car ride!  But dinner was delayed.  I was bummed about that.

For all you dog lovers (and who wouldn’t be – I don’t understand), here’s a list of things dogs shouldn’t eat.  I guess a lot of things can make me sick or worse *gulp*. Click on the link to read why these are dangerous.  Some are very scary!!

Toxic foods for dogs.

  • Avocado
  • Alcohol (who would do that??!!)
  • Onions and garlic
  • Any caffeine
  • Grapes and raisins
  • Milk and other dairy products
  • Macadamia nuts
  • Candy and gum – not for the sugar.  Some are sweetened with Xylitol which can be toxic.
  • Chocolate
  • Fat trimmings and bones
  • Peaches, Plums, and Persimmons
  • Raw eggs
  • Raw meat and fish
  • Salt
  • Too many sugary treats
  • Yeast dough
  • Human medicine
  • Baking powder and baking soda
  • Nutmeg and some other spices
  • Raw potatoes

Until next week…

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

