Wiksten Tank

 

IMG_8991_edited-1

I’ve been on a mission for the perfect tank pattern.  One that can be worn on its own, with a loose fit so I can wear it with skinny jeans and with sweaters in the winter.  But, I don’t want it to be a tent – it has to have some shape.  I have a few from Nordstrom that I love.  When I started sewing, I was sure I could replicate them.  They were exactly what I wanted but expensive for what they were – just simple polyester tops.

IMG_8987_edited-1

This supposedly easy-to-replicate basic wardrobe piece has turned out to be elusive.  The only pattern I’ve found that’s close is the Wiksten Tank.  I like the fitted shape through the shoulders and the longer length in back.  There are several examples around the internet that are super-cute.

When I made it initially, I followed the sizing guidelines and the shirt was so huge, it was unwearable.  So, I re-printed, taped and re-cut the pattern in a Small and it worked out much better. That was a pain but the nature of the beast with pdf patterns.IMG_8990_edited-1

I like the fit in theory but I will need to make some adjustments on the next version.  First, this requires a fabric with a nice drape.  Even this linen I used was too stiff.  It ended up looking huge in front – I’m not really going for the pregnant look!  With a more drape-y fabric, it would lay nicely and look exactly how I envisioned.  In fact, after seeing these pictures, I’ve decided not to make a second tank in the same fabric (different color); it’s just too stiff to be flattering.

IMG_8967_edited-1 neck gape

The back neck gapes on me so I will adjust for that.  I saw an easy way to fix that on Made by Rae which I’d like to try. I also think that shortening the bias binding just a smidge around the neckline will help it lay better in front.

IMG_8983_edited-1

I’ve wondered for awhile if I need to learn how to do a swayback adjustment.  The pooling of fabric at my lower back sure makes it look like I need to.  I’ll have to figure that out.

IMG_8972_edited-1

This is a great pattern which is easy to make.  The pattern calls for french seams which I love since I don’t have a serger.  It’s quick too – it can easily be done in an evening.

It’s definitely a pattern I’ll make again when I find the right fabric!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

8 responses »

  1. Lovely material, it looks great on you.

    Reply
  2. i can totally relate to the agony of non-drapey fabric in this tank! i have another cut out in a nice, light voile – hopefully it will be a better fit.

    Reply
  3. oops, meant to say that it doesn’t look tenty on you – it looks lovely 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by! I just saw your Tova dress. Now I want to buy that pattern! Was the sizing as big as the tank?

      Reply
      • i don’t find it quite as big as the tank. i made a medium in the tank and was tempted to try a small next time, but i think (for me) a small in the tova would be almost snug in the hips and too tight across the shoulder. however, i find the tova roomy in the back – maybe because i don’t have a big enough bust to fill up some of the space!? hope that helps 🙂

      • Thanks! Since I’m still a beginner, sizing is the hardest part for me. I’m learning to use the finished garment measurements and compare to something I own. Even that doesn’t always work. Oh well, it’s a learning process, right? 🙂

  4. Pingback: 2012–My First Year of Sewing « Girl, Guy, Dog, Cat

Leave a Reply

