Fall is Time for Slow Cookers

IMG_9357_edited-1

Why is it that when the weather turns cool, we totally change the way we eat?  At least I do.  It started with the Apple Crisp.  This week I broke out the Crock Pot. I do love that device.  I made dinner Sunday and Tuesday and both were delicious.  I used America’s Test Kitchen’s (no surprise there) Slow Cooker Revolution.  I’ve made at least five recipes from this book and all have turned out great.

Sunday night I made Brazilian Black Bean and Pork Stew.  I love black beans so this was a nice change from the normal stew, pulled pork or sloppy joe’s I normally make in the slow cooker.  The stew has pork, black beans, sausage, onions, garlic, broth and a bunch of spices. I also made the recommended Brazilian Hot Sauce. The hot sauce was good (a vinegary pico de gallo) but even better the next day with leftovers.

We served the stew with rice (which I totally screwed up), crusty bread, salad and apple crisp for dessert.  The pictures below aren’t great since we had friends and family over for dinner.  I was more interested in chatting than taking pictures.

IMG_9326_edited-1

IMG_9329_edited-1

But the better of the two meals was last night. I made the Everyday Shredded Chicken Filling in the slow cooker and used it in enchiladas.  Oh my gosh.  They were so good.  I will definitely make these again.

IMG_9380_edited-1

I can’t recommend this cookbook enough.  The base shredded chicken was fantastic.  When making the enchiladas, you add cheese, cilantro and jalapeno to the chicken before rolling – even better!  There is also a recipe for Enchilada sauce that had great flavor.  Because of the steps with the chicken and making the sauce, it’s not one of those slow cooker meals that you plop everything in the pot and you’re done.  But, the small amount of time it took is well worth it.

Next up:  a new chili recipe.  In the slow cooker of course.

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

2 responses »

  1. your cat in the background is killing me!!!!! And wow, dinner looks fab!! The other day I made White bean soup and an apple pie- so I totally understand what you mean about our eating habits changing with the colder weather!!!

    Reply
    • White bean soup sounds delicious and something I’ve never tried. Yeah, that cat, Ollie, is a piece of work. When we sit at the table he jumps up on a chair like he expects us to bring him a plate!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

