Happy Adoptaversary, Sadie!

IMG_9458_edited-1

It’s hard to believe but it has been a year since Matt and I drove a couple hours away to pick up Sadie from a rescue organization.  We don’t exactly know her background because some of the information doesn’t fit together.  Supposedly she was a pet which makes sense because she is so well behaved and trained to sit, shake, stay off the furniture, and walk well on leash.  On the other hand, she was around 2 years old (we don’t know how old exactly) and had been bred twice.  Her owners were getting rid of her because she wasn’t caring for her puppies so they had to be breeders.

Sadies adoption picture2Sadie’s adoption picture from the rescue website

sadie first day

On the ride home!

When we picked her up, we found a sweet girl who was friendly from the start and couldn’t wait to get in the car.  Her coat was rough and growing back from being shaved and her incision from her spay was still not fully healed.IMG_5855_edited-1

Her first week home.

I couldn’t believe how quickly she became an important part of my life.  Sadie is my first dog. I always had cats and wasn’t anti-dog but just was never around them much.  I am now the crazy person that talks about their dog like it’s her child and takes hundreds of pictures (but come on – she’s so cute!).  I do blog posts, for goodness sake!  She now occupies a place in my heart I didn’t know I had and I’m thankful for it.

The past year has been easy overall.  Sure, our schedules have been impacted but that was to be expected.  She is a low key dog that came to us fully trained.  She has the sweetest disposition.  The adjustment period was short.  We are very lucky in that respect.  sadie candy cane_edited-1

The challenges we’ve had this year have more to do with her health issues.  We learned  Sadie has serious allergies that require regular medication and special food to manage.  She needed a costly ear procedure.  We recently found out she has Wobbler Syndrome which is something we have to watch carefully and will likely get worse over the years possibly requiring surgery.  She also has tremors that are hard to watch but are not painful.

IMG_7931_edited-1

After her ear procedure.  Ear infection finally gone.

We’ve learned a lot about her funny personality over the year:

She loves food more than anything (including us) and will beg relentlessly (but silently, thank goodness)…IMG_2287_edited-1

sadie begsadie pizza

Car rides are a close second…IMG_2683_edited-1

IMG_2645

She will steal food out of the trash or off the counter every chance she gets (just one example)…IMG_2017_edited-1

Wants to be nearby at all times…IMG_2569_edited-1

Is tolerant of her playful young puppy friends…IMG_8600_edited-1

ryland sadie_edited-1

Loves ice cubes (we learned that from her doggie day care)…

She passed her test for Canine Good Citizen and Therapy Dog certification…

Is so patient she let me dress her up in a robe and shower cap for Halloween.  Can’t wait for this year…IMG_6008_edited-1

Rarely plays with toys unless they contain food and then won’t be distracted…IMG_8406_edited-1

Is a Newfoundland that doesn’t like water

But best of all, she will woo you with her big brown eyes…SONY DSC

and a tilt of the headjanette sadie_edited-1

We’re lucky to have her in our life and look forward to what the next year will bring.

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

8 responses »

  1. She’s beautiful. Could almost be a twin of our Newf! Same behaviour and ailments.

    Reply
    • That is too funny! I’m sorry to hear your newf has the same ailments, though. Having Sadie has made me want to get another Newf but I worry she has spoiled me. Sounds like yours is just as sweet!

      Reply
  2. I have to say that Sadie is the luckiest doggie in town, she has the best parents, and she is the sweetest dog, she is soooo cute, and she has earned a special place in my heart just by seeing all the pictures on her blog. I wish I could see her in person just to give her a big hug! Happy Anniversary Sadie!!!!

    Reply
  3. I’m so glad you left a comment on my blog, as it’s led me to your blog! What a gorgeous dog and a lovely post about her. I’m thinking about getting a dog, but as I work full-time in London I am being very careful, as I want to do the right thing. So I’m thinking about using dog walkers when I’m in the office, thinking carefully about the right type of dog etc etc. It’s not a decision to take lightly, but I have a feeling that if and when I go ahead I’ll wonder why I didn’t do this years ago…

    Reply
    • I really do wish I had a dog earlier – why did I wait ’till I was 40? But, I will say that the time consideration and the financial impact are nothing to be taken lightly. And we didn’t have the schedule to do it sooner. We pay for doggie day care or a dog walker when I travel and we have had huge vet bills that we certainly didn’t plan on (big dogs – more expensive drugs – who knew?) We have to factor her into our plans and need to come home earlier from events sometimes because she can’t be home hours and hours on end (I never mind though).
      All that said, I love her to death and now want a second one! I can’t wait to see her when I come home (poor husband…) I would choose the breed and temperament wisely depending on your lifestyle. I’m not sure if they have rescue/foster programs in London but that is a great way to get a dog and learn information about its training/behavior since they lived with someone. Good luck if you decide to do it!

      Reply
  4. sadie looks like such a sweetheart – so nice that she has found a great home! we see a lot of those begging poses in our house, too 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Sadie Saturday–Playing Catch-up « Girl, Guy, Dog, Cat

Leave a Reply

