Thankful–Day 3

Ok, I skipped a day yesterday.  Oh well.  I’m also thankful I’m not a perfectionist!

Today I’m thankful I have the opportunity to keep learning. 

IMG_9688_edited-1

Over the past year, I’ve learned to sew.  I don’t devote as much time as I would like to the hobby so I’m still a beginner.  Even so, it has been fun to learn with simple projects and progress on to relatively more complex ones. It hasn’t always been easy – I make mistakes on every project.  That teaches me, right?  It has also been  a nice surprise to discover the huge online sewing community.  Even when I don’t have time (or the motivation) to sew something myself, I enjoy reading the many sewing blogs out there.  What a fun, talented group of people! So, even when I’m a slug on the sofa I feel like I’m still learning. I look forward to increasing my skills more next year.

Learning new skills is something I’ve enjoyed the past few years.  Probably three years ago I decided to learn more about photography.  It has been a satisfying hobby.  I’ve moved away from carrying my camera around as much and probably need to get back in that habit.  I look like a weirdo at events shooting photos all the time but am so glad to have the pictures and enjoy it very much. 

Learning how to make a simple blog has been interesting too.  I have only scratched the surface of what can be done.  I was shocked at how easy it was.  No wonder everyone and their brother has one! It has been a fun way to combine three things I love to do: cooking, sewing, and photography.

Have a great weekend and find something you’re thankful for too!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

2 responses »

  1. I do like your thankful posts. I find them really inspiring 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

