Thankful – Day 8

Image

I am so thankful to work for a great company that wants to contribute to a healthy community.  By this time in my career, I’ve worked a few places and have an appreciation for a company that truly values its employees and has policies and benefits that back that up (I’ve seen the other side…).  One of the benefits we are given is two full days off, paid, to do volunteer work.  One of our principles is building a healthy community and they allow us the time to do it.

So, yesterday morning I volunteered at the Mid-Ohio Food Bank.  I’ve volunteered there in the evening or on the weekend but this was my first time during a weekday.  What a fantastic organization.  They make it so easy to volunteer – you can pick and choose what shift and type of work right online.  I’ve done the re-packing and sorting a couple times and worked in the pantry.  I would do either again. I’ve got a few more dates lined up and thanks to my company, I can help them out during the day when they don’t have as many volunteers.

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

One response »

  1. Proud of you and so nice to have the time to help others!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

