Impromptu Baked Ziti

IMG_0001_edited-1

I follow The Pioneer Woman’s blog feeds and this morning her Baked Ziti came across my computer screen.  It looked delicious and would allow me to use up some ingredients still in my fridge from the holiday weekend.  So I tried it tonight – no time like the present!

IMG_0008_edited-1

I liked this because it wasn’t the typical recipe where you just dump pasta sauce and pasta in a pan.  The sauce is simmered for 25 minutes and contains sausage and ground beef which is not typical (or at least the baked ziti recipes I’ve had).  Amazingly, I didn’t even use all the mozzarella called for by the recipe.   I just couldn’t fit it in the pan.  I used a basic 13×9 Pyrex dish and it was stuffed.  I did put a cookie sheet on the rack below to catch any run over.  Couple things to think about:

  • This makes a ton of food.  Granted there are only two of us in the house but I’m hoping I can freeze this or we’ll be throwing a bunch away even after eating leftovers for days.
  • I used spicy sausage – I would definitely do that again.
  • It needs more Italian seasoning and/or red pepper flakes. Though in truth I have no idea how long my Italian seasoning was in my drawer.  It probably lost its flavor.
  • It took about 5-8 minutes longer than the recipe calls for.

Here’s the link to the recipe:

Baked Ziti

IMG_0015_edited-1

I’ll definitely make it again, especially when feeding a crowd.

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

