Chocolate Caramel Candy

IMG_0583_edited-1

Do you like Snickers?  If you do, you need to make these. They don’t taste exactly like the Snickers but it’s pretty close.  It’s somehow sweeter, if you can believe it.  I think it’s the marshmallow creme or the already sweet peanut butter.  I don’t know why – it’s delicious though!

I’ve been baking quite a lot the past couple days.  We have a pretty big group of friends coming over for a Christmas party on Saturday and I wanted to at least get the dessert out of the way.  I needed some easy desserts that could be made in advance and were simple to eat without dishes.  I made several dozen cookies (more on those later) and these.  I have a couple other options to make tomorrow.

Anyway, I was at the grocery store and found this Taste of Home Christmas cookie magazine with lots of options.  I’m sure it’s in your local store too. This candy recipe was included.  It can also be found here: Chocolate Caramel Candy.

IMG_0562_edited-1The recipe is my first foray into any kind of candy.  I guess it hardly counts – it wasn’t like it needs a candy thermometer or anything.  No molds or shaping either.  It was so simple! The only consideration for this recipe is the time commitment.  Each layer needs to set before pouring on the next.  It doesn’t take long – maybe 15 minutes each time- but keep it in mind and allow enough time.

Just melt milk chocolate chips, butterscotch chips and peanut butter. Don’t include the butter like I did – that was supposed to be used on the foil.  Guess I have double the butter in my version.  Worse things could happen.IMG_0548_edited-1

Pour in foil lined (buttered!) 13×9 pan. Refrigerate until set.IMG_0550_edited-1

Read the recipe for more specifics but in the next step you melt the butter; cook the milk and sugar; stir in the marshmallow creme, peanut butter, vanilla and peanuts. Spread over chocolate. Refrigerate until set.IMG_0563_edited-1

IMG_0564_edited-1

Combine the caramels and cream; stir over low heat until melted and smooth. Cook and stir 4 minutes longer. IMG_0565_edited-1

Spread over filling. Refrigerate until set. (sense a pattern here?)IMG_0570_edited-1

Melt milk chocolate and butterscotch chips and peanut butter; stir over low heat until melted and smooth. Pour over the caramel layer. Refrigerate for several hours.IMG_0573_edited-1

IMG_0575_edited-1

After it is fully chilled, you can flip it out of the pan and peel off the foil.  IMG_0578_edited-1

IMG_0582_edited-1

The candy is very sweet so the pieces can be fairly small.  I cut mine a little bigger than inch square pieces and got at least 70 pieces. The chocolate on the top and bottom gets soft very fast so I would keep it refrigerated.  I have mine in the freezer right now. Give it a try!

IMG_0588_edited-1

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

4 responses »

  1. Oh my! Those look so good- Save some for the family, huh?

    Reply
  2. Not sure how much will be left! But, I can always make more!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Some Glad Tidings and Whatnot | Bobbins and Whimsy

  4. Pingback: Lemon Crinkle Cookies « Girl, Guy, Dog, Cat

Leave a Reply

