Christmas Crack

IMG_0818_edited-1

How have I missed this recipe all these years?  I had never heard of it until my friend Lisa sent me the recipe (the same Lisa of the Oreo balls).  Then when I thought I messed it up, I googled the recipe and found tons of versions.  Am I the last one to this party?  Well, if you haven’t heard of it, it is so easy and super fast.  There’s still time to make it!

Next time I make it, I am going to do a version with chocolate chips and Heath bar chips.  Maybe a version with nuts or some pretzel pieces on top. Marshmallows? As it is below it’s delicious but you can really customize it however you want!

Here’s how I made it:

  • 1 1/2 Cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 Cup butter
  • 2 Cups semi sweet chocolate chips (just a little more than a standard size bag)
  • approximately 55 crackers (I filled a 12×17 cookie sheet)

Preheat oven to 350.

Line a cookie sheet with foil. Spray generously with non stick spray.  Line the cookie sheet with the saltines.IMG_0798_edited-1

Melt the butter and brown sugar together until it boils.  Reduce heat and simmer until mixture is thickened and sugar is dissolved (5 mins or so).IMG_0799_edited-1

IMG_0802_edited-1red

Pour over crackers.IMG_0803_edited-2

Bake in oven until the toffee is bubbly.  I checked at 4 minutes and it was already bubbling (the recipe I used said 8 mins – keep your eye on it!)IMG_0808_edited-1

IMG_0809_edited-1

Wait a minute or two and pour the chips evenly on the crackers.  Let the chips sit for a couple minutes to soften then spread in an smooth layer.IMG_0811_edited-1

IMG_0812_edited-1

Mine doesn’t look as smooth as it should.  I let the crackers cool too long before putting the chips on.  They were a little hard to spread and I had to pop it in the still warm oven.

Let sit until hardened then break into pieces.  You can speed it up by putting the pan in the refrigerator.  I think I broke mine up to soon.  The were more chewy-crisp than cracker crisp. After a night in the fridge in a cookie tin, they were nice and crispy (yes, I had some with my coffee).

IMG_0816_edited-1red

Sadie photobombing my pictures, hoping a piece will find its way to her.  Too bad…IMG_0815_edited-2red

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

