Sewing Goals – 2013

IMG_9688_edited-1I think I mentioned I’m not one for resolutions but like I did with my cooking goals, I think it would be good to write down some general items I’d like to make or skills I’d like to develop.  In addition to some patterns I want to make, looking back on my 2012 finished objects definitely showed me some areas of improvement.

  1. Just jump in there!  New sewing projects are daunting to me because I’m still a beginner.  I need to just get over it and make things, knowing they won’t all work out.
  2. Clean up my sewing area.  I’m fortunate to have enough room in the bedroom for my sewing machine and fabric.  Unfortunately, my fabric has outgrown the plastic container I thought would be big enough.  How naïve I was.  We just moved up a hand-me-down cabinet which should be able to hold everything.  The key – keeping it clean. 
  3. Organize my patterns and use the ones I have.  With the huge $.99 sales and all the great garments I see folks make online, I’ve bought tons of patterns, excited by all the possibilities.  I need to stop buying them and use what I have.
  4. Make time for sewing most weeks.  I know every week is not likely with my travel schedule but I want to make a more concerted effort, even if it’s 15 minutes at a time. I always think I need a huge chunk of time to make a lot of progress.  Maybe I should approach it differently so I don’t put pressure on myself to finish in one or two sittings.
  5. Think twice, no, three times about that pretty printed fabric I want to buy.  Even if it’s on super sale.  Have a plan for the fabric.  The bright fabrics I love in the store and the clothes I wear are very different.  If I’m going to spend the time to sew, I want to make things I can wear often.
  6. Try to make pants.
  7. Make some wardrobe basics and casual summer dresses
  8. Take Craftsy classes (Sewing with Knits and Susan Khalje’s The Couture Dress).  I already bought them when on sale for 50% off.  I just need to watch them.

That should get me started!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

One response »

  1. sewing does seem to induce hoarding, I think. I also feel that I worry too much about creating the perfect fit first time. This year shall be different 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

