Burda 7866

IMG_1617_edited-1web

This was my first time sewing a Burda pattern.  I wish I looked at them earlier. I always assumed you had to add the seam allowances but I was mistaken – that’s only the magazine patterns.  They have a lot of more modern styles so I’ll definitely make more.

IMG_1612_edited-1web

Don’t mind the crappy mirror pictures.  I made this about 3 weeks ago right up until the hem.  I finished the hem today and since I doubt I’ll wear this much, I couldn’t be bothered to set up the tripod.

IMG_1632_edited-1web

This is a super easy pattern that should go together quickly.  Even so, I totally flubbed the neck so it looks like crap – so much so that I probably won’t wear this blouse out and about too much.  It won’t lie flat and is all bumpy.  Totally homemade looking.  Also, I read a lot of reviews saying the neckline was really high and they were right.  I took an inch off the front and it’s still high.

IMG_1618_edited-1web

Flowy arms! The pattern is interesting – there are no shoulder seams; it’s all one piece that you sew up the side.

IMG_1603_edited-1

I like this style in theory but I’m not sure (even if I sewed the neck properly) that it is flattering on me.  I think it would look better with someone that is larger in the bust than hips.  Proportionally, I’m the opposite. boo hoo.

IMG_1614_edited-1web

I used a double needle for the arm and bottom hems.  I know they make a slight ridge on knits but this looks excessive.  Is there any way to correct that?

I’m not sure what’s up next.  I’d like to sew some colorful blouses that I can start wearing now and into spring.  Considering how long it takes me to finish a project, I need to plan ahead!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

6 responses »

  1. I think it looks really good, you know and I really like the pattern looking at it.

    StephC has run a sealong for her knit dress pattern and in the posts there is alot of info re sewing with knits. Maybe it could help with the neck line.
    http://sewingcake.com/30-minutes-a-day-tiramisu-knit-dress-sewalong/

    But really, it doesn’t scream homemade to me at all.

    Reply
  2. This shirt/blouse looks really nice! But I know how you feel – when I know that my blouse is handmade, I always think others will see immediately, too – but they don’t. I tried it successfully. So just go ahead!

    Reply
  3. Cute! I think you should wear it, just throw on a necklace or scarf to hide imperfections on the neckline. Gotta love accessories!

    Reply
    • Duh! I didn’t even think of that. And I just bought a new scarf! You may have just made this top a lot more useful. Sad that I was only looking at the negative… Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

