Simplicity 2181

IMG_1778_edited-1web

First, sorry about the awful pictures!  I lost my remote and was having a heck of a time trying to get the right exposure and focus.  They looked fine on the LCD; I guess the focus was way off.  It’s bad enough taking pictures of yourself, I wasn’t going to do it all over again!

I initially bought this pattern for version A, the one pictured on the model.  I still like it and may make it.  I couldn’t figure out what size to make (and questioned how it would look on someone not stick skinny).  I went a different direction entirely and tried version B with the twist overlay. You can see the overlay better on the yellow line drawing below.  They’re all flattering styles that can be versatile pieces.  I think the biggest challenge is finding nice looking knits.  I made mine in ITY from Gorgeous Fabrics.  It was my first time working with the fabric and I really liked it.

Photo

I think it turned out alright. I added about 3 inches in length. After wearing it all day, I realized it’s too big – particularly the overlay (it’s floppy and doesn’t cinch tightly at the waist as it should) and the chest (I end up flashing).  I had to wear a camisole underneath. It’s a shame because the overlay is the coolest part – it could be very flattering.   That it’s too big is a disappointment because I was torn on the sizing. I still have a hard time with that part. I know pattern sizes are usually 2-3 sizes bigger than what you wear in ready-to-wear but so many reviews say the big 4 have too much ease and recommend going down a size. Where do you end up then? That combined with the fact that knits don’t need much ease at all, it’s confusing to me. I went with a 14 as my measurements indicated which was a mistake. I was so nervous it would be skin tight I even sewed smaller than normal seam allowances. Guess I didn’t need to worry about that. Now I may try to figure out how to take it in.  And maybe shorten it a bit. Next time I sew one, I will likely use a 12 for the chest and overlay, maybe the whole top. I can’t win picking sizes. Rant over…

IMG_1760_edited-1web

This top is a pretty easy one to put together.  Strangely, it was one of my most frustrating projects but only due to my own mistakes and my machine.  I broke three needles before finally taking off my walking foot. From then on I had no other issues.  But until I made the switch, I had all kinds of skipped stitches and jammed fabric.  This was all on the first few steps! There was a lot of inappropriate language coming from the sewing area! Then, for the life of me, I could not figure out how to do the overlay. Once I figured out I missed marking a dot, it made perfect sense.

Some times I wonder why I picked up a hobby that can frustrate me so much.  My real job doesn’t even do that!

In the end, I would recommend the pattern and I’m definitely going to make another – just need to find the right knit.

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

17 responses »

  1. I really like that pattern. It is a flattering style. Makes you look all curvy – in a good way. And it looks comfy. I love the polka dots!

    Reply
  2. Looks great on you! Like it alot.

    Reply
  3. I’m envious of your talent. You just keep getting better. This is my favorite top so far. Let me know when you’re ready to sew for friends and family. So many neat patterns out there. You’re fast becoming a pro.

    Reply
  4. Very cute top! and I love your fabric choice! ~Kerrielee

    Reply
  5. It looks great! I’m going to brave making clothes for myself this year. Sewing for little ones is always so much simpler!

    Reply
  6. Great top! I love polka dots, too – and they help to see the twist. This pattern has been in a magazine lately, but it started two sizes too big, so I didn’t buy the magazine. It would have been the only pattern I liked.
    I also sometimes wonder why I chose a hobby that can be really frustrating. Then I need a short break and I go on ;).

    Reply
  7. It looks beautiful on you though.

    I am so with you on the sizes. It is frustrating. Sometimes they have the finished garments sizes somewhere either on the envelope or on the patern pieces and I found that this helped a bit. The whole ‘wearing ease’ thing is just fraught with danger. And with knits it also all depends on how much stretch there is so it doesn’t necessarily turn out alike if there are differences … really frustrating … so yes what was I thinking of picking sewing as a hobby 🙂

    Reply
  8. Very cute! It is very figure flattering and the polka dots are pretty 🙂

    I’m also new to sewing and love finding new bloggers to follow.

    From one beginner to another — tissue fitting!!!! When I’m uncertain I fit the tissue before cutting. Just pin front and back together (on the outside) and “try on” the tissue. You’ll get to see, roughly, where the center lines, etc will fall. This saved me when the sizing chart called for an 18 but I really needed a 14!

    What’s really frustrating is, they show a garment fitting the model well, yet it has 6″ of bust ease. Just SILLY!!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Sewing roundup – 2013 | Girl, Guy, Dog, Cat

Leave a Reply

