Summer Salad–Panera Berry Salad Knockoff

IMG_2417_edited-1web

I have been in a real cooking funk lately.  I just haven’t felt like spending the time to make meals which is pretty unusual for me.  My husband and I have irregular schedules with my sporadic travel and his late hours.  When you combine that with my total lack of motivation it results in a lot of take-out.  I have cooked a bit, but nothing worth noting and/or I forgot to take pictures.  Oops.

Not today! Well, actually I did forget to take pictures when I initially made this for Mother’s Day dinner but I had leftovers today so that counts, right? I snapped a couple shots before I ate.  A food stylist I’m not.

IMG_2420_edited-1web

I pinned this ages ago.  It’s a knock-off of Panera’s Summer Berry Salad which I love.  I have to admit, Panera is one restaurant that drives me crazy.  I like the food and I go there often when I travel because it’s predictable and has wi-fi.  But every single time I am shocked at how much I spent and the fact that I’m still hungry when I leave.

Anyway…

I just tore up a few hearts of romaine and added strawberries, blueberries, mandarin oranges, and pineapple. I left off the candied pecans because I was making this for dinner at my step-mom’s house and she hates nuts.  The key to this is the Orange Poppy Seed Vinaigrette dressing.  It is so good!  Citrusy and sweet with just a bit of tang. For my lunch I added some leftover rotisserie chicken.  Delicious!

IMG_2415_edited-1web

Here’s the link to the recipe.  Enjoy!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a Reply

