Red, White, and Blueberry Trifle

IMG_2486_edited-1webHappy Memorial Day, my friends!  As part of this weekend to celebrate those that have served our country, many of us gather with friends and family.  It’s a wonderful time for community and the unofficial start to summer.

Over this week I’ll share a few recipes I tried that worked well for a cookout we had last night.  Of course I had to post this first since it’s red, white, and blue!  I found it on a blog I follow, Skinnytaste.com

I like this recipe because it’s delicious, pretty, super easy, and a healthier option than a cake or pie (ignoring that I also had Texas Sheet Cake for dessert too).

IMG_2489_edited-1web

Here’s the recipe:  Red, White and Blueberry Trifle

The recipe calls for fat free condensed milk and non fat cool whip.  I used the regular version of the sweetened condensed milk, not for any reason – I just forgot to buy the other kind. I used the lite cool whip because that’s what I had in my freezer.  I’m assuming the recipe version would taste just as good.  The white chocolate flavor pudding wasn’t carried in the first store I stopped in but found it at Kroger. I used a store bought angel food cake.

IMG_2495_edited-1web

This recipe is no more difficult than slicing strawberries and a couple minutes of whisking. It definitely tastes better than the effort it takes.  Love those recipes.  It’s a delicious way to take advantage of all the berries in season right now.

Enjoy!

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

One response »

  1. That looks fantastic!

    Thanks, Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

