Chipotle Chicken Taco Salad

IMG_8748_edited-1

After all the desserts I’ve posted, I guess it’s time to post some real food.  To be honest, I’ve made plenty of dishes but they either didn’t work out or they weren’t that exciting.  Not that this salad will knock your socks off, but the dressing is delicious and it’s healthy without being boring.

I found the recipe in a great cookbook, Cooking Light The Essential Dinner Tonight.  There are tons of recipes I want to try.  Two things I like in a cookbook that you can’t find in most are in this one– big photos and nutrition information.

Fortunately, the Cooking Light website also has this recipe:

Chipotle Chicken Taco Salad

I love anything with black beans and corn.  Plus dressing with chipotle peppers?  Awesome.  It’s super easy.  Next time I make this, fresh summer corn would be great as would grilled chicken with a little fajita seasoning.  I made it tonight with rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and canned corn to save time.

IMG_8739_edited-1

The dressing had fresh cilantro, chipotle peppers, lime juice, chili powder, cumin, salt and light sour cream.  Great flavor.

IMG_8743_edited-1

In addition to romaine and cooked chicken, the salad has corn, black beans, avocado, red onion and cherry tomatoes.

IMG_8745_edited-1

The recipe called for tossing everything together.  I kept the chicken, dressing and vegetables separate since I’ll be making a salad tomorrow and want to keep everything fresh.

IMG_8751_edited-1

Can you believe this cat?  He got a stray tomato before I shooed him off the chair. Between Sadie and Ollie, I can’t turn my back around food for a second!

IMG_8755_edited-1

About girlguydogcat

Living in the midwest, wife to a fantastic husband, mom/servant to two cats and a dog.

Leave a comment